MGallery Plovdiv, Bulgaria. 2020

Did you know that…

The ancient city of Plovdiv was proclaimed the cultural capital of Europe in 2019? The city’s noteworthy history has settled over time, forming, layer by layer, a unique cultural composition. Eras and names have changed, but one constant remained from the very beginning: the Forum. It was the center of public life, where citizens gathered to exchange their opinions on legal, political and other relevant societal issues.

MGallery Hotel is housed in an iconic former department store. Designers of S+S have discerned, through the ages, the building’s  functional connection with the Forum as a place for unification, and reflected the idea of historic and modern layering in the interior.

Reflection in Our Design

The lobby continues the narrative of the Forum through the prism of time. Back when Plovdiv was called «Philippopolis», it was one of the few ancient cities to dispose its own library, where people had gathered for reading and public discussions. A library bar, framed by book shelves gives a nod to this epoch, offering guests two seating options, be it socializing at the bar or nobly secluding on the lounge podium with a book and a glass of wine.

The layering idea is emphasized by steps of various heights. A functional art object – biofuel fireplace – attracts the attention of guests in the reception area with a seating and standing desks, the latter made of mirror and frosted glass. The backlight creates an impression of its transparency and weightlessness.

The lack of windows in the lobby is offset by a daylight atrium. An open-air garden becomes a logical extension and translates the concept of the Forum. Here, Sundukovy Sisters designed a pool area with a water stage and different level podiums with comfortable lounge seating, allowing guests to watch the staged performance from any point in the garden.

Given the configuration of the building, where guest room windows face each other, overlooking the patio, S+S developed a tall folding headboard, which divides the room into two functional areas: a bedroom and a living room. This unique solution ensures guests’ privacy and hides them from the neighbors’ view on the one hand, and on the other, allows them to join the show taking place on stage. Thus, the guest room becomes a private lodge in the amphitheater.

Turning the bed away from the window, S+S placed a mirror wall opposite the bed. This way, guests are not missing out on a view, while remaining invisible to their neighbours.

Key Points to Success

The sophisticated luxury of the MGallery brand is emphasized by a skilful combination of modern materials, typical of the building, and recognizable ancient Forum motifs in a modern interpretation: rough background with neat brass accents, stucco, elegant gold lamps, natural wood, sophisticated paintings against a background of restrained minimalism.

Each design solution is carefully thought out to bring guests comfort as well as unforgettable experience of staying in a hotel with a cultural connotation. Here, everything nudges guests toward the center of social life, leaving an opportunity to retreat to their guest room nook at any time.

Share with:

Sundukovy Sisters » MGallery, Пловдив, Болгария. 2020 MGallery, Пловдив, Болгария. 2020 — Sundukovy Sisters

MGallery, Пловдив, Болгария. 2020

Площадь: 1261 m2

Знали ли вы что…

Древний город Пловдив был провозглашен культурной столицей Европы 2019 года? Со временем необычная история города оседала, слой за слоем, формируя уникальную культурную композицию. Менялись эпохи и названия, но одна константа сохранялась с самого ее начала: Форум. Это был центр общественной жизни, где горожане собирались для обмена своими мнениями на юридические, политические и другие важные вопросы общественной жизни.

Отель MGallery расположился в знаковом для города здании бывшего универмага. Сквозь эпохи, дизайнеры студии S+Sразглядели его функциональную связь с Форумом как места для объединения и отразили в интерьере идею наслоения истории и современности.

Отражение в дизайне

Лобби продолжает повествование о Форуме сквозь призму времени. Во времена, когда Пловдив носил название «Филиппополис», это был один из немногих древних городов со своей библиотекой, где люди собирались для чтения и публичных дискуссий. Отсылкой к этому периоду становится бар-библиотека с книжными стеллажами и двумя вариантами посадки: гости могут социализироваться за барной стойкой или пройти на лаунж-подиум, чтобы культурно уединиться с книгой и бокалом вина.

Концепцию наслоения подчеркивают ступеньки различной высоты. Функциональный арт-объект — паровой био-камин – притягивает внимание гостей в зоне ресепшн с двумя видами стоек регистрации: сидячей и стоячей, выполненной из зеркала и матового стекла. За счет подсветки создается впечатление ее прозрачности и невесомости.

Отсутствие окон в лобби компенсируется атриумом с дневным светом. Внутренний сад под открытым небом становится логическим продолжением пространства и транслирует идею форума. Здесь спроектирована зона бассейна со сценой на воде и подиумы разных уровней с комфортной лаунж-посадкой, чтобы гости могли свободно наблюдать за представлением из любой точки двора.

Учитывая конфигурацию здания, при которой окна номеров выходят во внутренний дворик и смотрят друг на друга, дизайнеры разработали высокое складное изголовье кровати, разделяющее номер на две функциональных зоны: спальню и гостиную. Уникальное решение, с одной стороны, обеспечивает приватность гостей и прячет от взора соседей, а с другой – позволяет стать участником шоу, происходящего на сцене. Таким образом, номер становится частной ложей в амфитеатре.

Развернув кровать спиной к окну, дизайнеры позаботились о пробуждении гостей с приятным видом, продумав зеркальную стену напротив. Таким образом, лежа в кровати, гость смотрит фактически смотрит в окно, а сам остается невидимым.

Ключевые факторы успеха

Изысканную роскошь бренда MGallery подчеркивает искусное сочетание современных материалов, характерных для здания, с узнаваемыми древними мотивами Форума в современной интерпретации: грубый фон с аккуратными латунными акцентами, штукатурка, элегантные золотые светильники, натуральное дерево, утонченные картины на картины на фоне сдержанного минимализма.

Каждое дизайнерское решение тщательно продумано, чтобы обеспечить гостям комфорт и подарить незабываемый опыт проживания в отеле с культурным подтекстом. Здесь всё направляет гостя в центр социальной жизни, оставляя, при этом, возможность в любой момент уединиться в защищенном коконе собственного номера.

 

Поделиться: