MGallery Nairobi, Kenya. 2019

Did you know that …

Nairobi got its name from a Maasai phrase meaning “cool water”, referring to the river, which flows through the city? It takes shape of streams and cascades running through Karura, the largest preserved forest in the country, home to treasures of Kenyan fauna and flora, encircling MGallery Gigiri.

The surrounding nature and the owners’ precious gemstone business were inspiration keys that shaped the interiors of a premium boutique hotel – the mythical jewel in the crown of an urban forest.

Reflection in Our Design

The forest almost streams into the contemporary see-through and asymmetric crystalline building through a lush green entrance – a smooth transition point from the outside in. Gems, crystals, greenery, light and water are central components in this elegant aquatic forest metaphor.

Organic, geometrical shapes and colors are placed in the lobby, referencing jewels, presented on a minimalistic background of light grey walls. Light is reflected and diffracted through glass walls and elements with dichroic film, which defines the refraction of color and causes an ever-changing game of light, while adding an unexpected artistic feel.

We brought the forest inside even more with a sky lit atrium space, filling it with water and large banana trees. An open-air bar extends into the building. Glass partitions can be folded in good weather to allow air into the hotel. Dramatic design combining glass transparency, iridescence, greenery and cutting edge technology unfold around the bar to shape an enchanting aquatic dream.

Reception and bar counters are made of transparent glass bricks – prisms with a mirror surface, which cause a “wow” effect. Soft touch and comfort are introduced through upholstery of intense, vibrant colors on furniture with smooth and curvy lines.

In guest rooms, the atmosphere here is even more welcoming and soothing. Precious gem­stone colored furniture stands out on warm white background of surrounding walls. A specially designed system of prisms and spotlights behind the headboard gives off a magical effect on walls. A colored stripe of glass in the bathroom wall continues the interplay of light, changing the room atmosphere throughout the day. The glass is transparent on one side and frosted on the other, ensuring privacy.

The swimming pool area invites guests to submerse in the cool waters in the daytime, making use of the deck chairs placed directly in the pool. This, while observing mesmerizing effects of water glowing on the floor surface through a glass sidewall. ln the evening, the bar turns into point of attraction. Artistic pieces and illuminated green plants frame the pool and create an unusual atmosphere of intimacy and comfort for events here, with light installations causing unexpected effects on the water surface.

Key points for rejuvenation

 

When working on a luxurious 5-star hotel in Nairobi, distance is crucial. Bearing in mind, that builders and manufacturers are not as highly qualified as in Europe, designers had to work out a design, that was not only easy to live in, but to build as well. Especially given the fact, that construction took place simultaneously with design project development. Thus, layouts were often changed, yet the concept remained.

Given the status of guests of the future hotel, design solutions had to be spacious and multifunctional.  The conference rooms, in particular, provided the hotel’s proximity to the UN Africa headquarters, major NGOs and international embassies. A variety of F&B concepts implied the presence of multiple restaurants with different cuisines to satisfy even the most refined taste.

S+S team worked carefully to introduce references to Africa that were not too obvious, revealing these in subtle details such as carpets, art and decorations, such as metal and fabric fringe, that appears here and there.

Mostly local materials and suppliers were used in order to save budget and retain a sustainable approach. An abundance of green shades, live greenery and local organic materials, such as shells, emerald, marble, gold and wood magnify the beauty of naturally occurring earth and water elements.

As with a multifaceted jewel, depending on the light and standpoint, each glimpse reveals new colors, making MGallery Gigiri, flagship hotel in Africa, a comfortable and sophisticated haven.

Share with:

MGallery Найроби, Кения. 2020

Знали ли вы, что …

В переводе с языка масаи Найроби означает «прохладные воды»? Речь идет о реке, что ручьями и каскадами струится через Каруру, самый большой лес в стране, сохранивший сокровища кенийской флоры и фауны.

Окружающее природное великолепие и ювелирный бизнес владельцев стали ключами вдохновения, которые легли в основу дизайн-концепции интерьера роскошного бутик-отеля MGallery, Gigiri, мифической жемчужины в кроне городского леса.

Отражение в нашем дизайне

Лес прорастает сквозь кристальные стены современного асимметричного здания, стирая границы между внешним и внутренним пространством. Драгоценные камни, зелень, свет и вода – основные элементы, образующие метафору аквагенного леса.

Органические цвета  и геометрические формы на минималистичном фоне светло-серых стен лобби делают отсылку к драгоценным камням. Свет проникает в пространство сквозь стеклянные стены, отражается, преломляется и рассеивается за счёт дихроичной пленки. Постоянно меняющаяся игра света добавляюет пространству артистичности.

Мы привнесли в пространство еще больше природного, спроектировав в лобби атриум с водой, естественным светом и большими банановыми деревьями. Здесь же — бар под открытым небом, который продолжается в крытую часть здания. Мобильные стеклянные перегородки легко убираются в хорошую погоду, чтобы впустить свежий воздух. Радужное сочетание стекла, света, воды зелени и передовых технологий в зоне бара погружает гостей в завораживающий переливчатый сон.

Барные стойки и стойки ресепшн изготовлены из прозрачного стеклянного кирпича — призмы с зеркальной поверхностью, гарантирующей «вау» эффект. Визуальный экстаз дополняют плавные мягкие линии мебели насыщенного цвета, а осязание обостряется за счет мягкой, комфортной обивки.

В номерах атмосфера еще более гостеприимная и умиротворяющая. Мебель, словно выграненная из драгоценных камней, выделяется на теплом белом фоне стен. Специально разработанная система призм и прожекторов за изголовьем кровати создает магический эффект на стенах. Полоса цветного стекла на стене в ванной продолжает игру света, за счет чего атмосфера в комнате меняется в течение дня. Стекло, прозрачное с одной стороны и матовое с другой, обеспечивает приватность.

В бассейне гости могут остудиться в прохладных водах днем, не отходя от шезлонгов, погруженных прямо в воду, созерцая завораживающие водные узоры на дне через стеклянную боковую стенку. Вечером бар превращается в точку притяжения всех гостей. Арт-объекты и подсвеченное озеленение обрамляют бассейн и создают комфортную, интимную атмосферу для вечерних мероприятий. Световые инсталляции проецируют неожиданное мерцание на водной глади.

Ключевые факторы успеха

При работе над роскошным 5-звездочным отелем в Найроби, удаленность объекта имела решающее значение. Принимая во внимание, что строители и поставщики региона не столь высококвалифицированные, как в Европе, студии S+S нужно было разработать дизайн, в котором не только легко жить, но и реально построить. Особенно учитывая, что строительство проходило одновременно с разработкой дизайн-проекта. Планировки часто менялись, но концепция оставалась.

Учитывая высокий статус будущих гостей, наши дизайнерские решения должны были обеспечить простор и функциональность. В частности, тщательной разработки требовали конференц-залы, ведь отель располагается в непосредственной близости к Африканской штаб-квартире ООН и международным посольствам. Уровень отеля также подразумевал наличие нескольких ресторанов с различными концепциями и кухнями, чтобы удовлетворить даже самый изысканный вкус.

Дизайнеры стремились не слишком очевидно раскрыть национальный колорит Африки, делая отсылки к культуре в деталях: коврах, предметах искусства и элементах декора.

Применяя экологический подход и экономя бюджет, мы использовали, преимущественно, местные материалы и поставщиков. Обилие зеленых оттенков, живая зелень и натуральные материалы — ракушка, изумруд, мрамор, золото и дерево — подчеркивают красоту природных элементов земли и воды.

Подобно бриллианту, в зависимости от освещения и наклона, каждая грань MGallery Gigiri, флагманского отеля в Африке, раскрывает новые оттенки, перенося гостей в изысканный и утонченный рай.

Поделиться: