Jewish Museum Cafe, Moscow. 2020

Did you know that…

Bakhmetyevsky garage is a monument of Soviet avant-garde architecture and one of the original buildings of the 1920’s? It is distinguished by a unique spatial composition and a bright artistic image. This was reflected in the layout developed by S+S for the Jewish Museum café.  Designers applied a classic architectural technique – a compositional central element, which defines the layout around it.

Reflection in Design

Sundukovy Sisters studio was asked to create an interior that would not be out of tune from the general concept of the museum. The zoning had to be reconsidered as well to optimize the space.

A circle in the heart of the layout symbolizes integrity and perfection. A VIP zone was placed here. Inner walls of the art object above depict a video installation coming from the projector. Such decision was dictated by the fact that the art object will be observed from all points in the museum. It therefore supports the central volume of the museum exposition. Underneath it we placed a decorative bookcase as a source of knowledge. Book covers may also be used as part of the exhibition.

The prevailing color in furniture is terracotta and its shades, complemented by bright details of the floor and interior. S+S divided the museum and cafe zones using bulk floor with geometric lines, emphasizing the round shape of the layout. Deep tones of interior decor grant a sense tranquility, awaken interest and draw attention, plunging guests into the avant-garde atmosphere, where you want to stay. Split level lighting deepens the overall atmosphere.

Key Points for Success

Simple, clear, coherent forms bring functional advantages and reinforce the unconventional museum space. Elaborate seating is provided for groups as well as private business meetings. Smart zoning, soft seating and an alluring bar create a modern space that appeals not only to museum visitors, but also draws in patrons from the street.

Share with:

Кафе в Еврейском Музее, Москва. 2020

Знаете ли вы, что…

Здание Бахметьевского гаража, памятник архитектуры советского авангарда, стоит в ряду оригинальных построек двадцатых годов XX века? Здание отличается уникальной пространственной композицией и ярким художественным образом. Поэтому, в основе планировочных решений кафе в Еврейском музее дизайнеры S+S использовали классический архитектурный прием — композиционно выделенный центр вокруг которого строится планировка.

Отражение в Дизайне

Студию Sundukovy Sisters попросили сделать такой интерьер, который не выбивается из общей концепции музея, тщательно продумать зонирование и оптимизировать тем самым пространство.

В основе планировки — круг, символизирующий цельность и совершенство, поэтому в центре мы размещаем ВИП зону. Над ней располагается арт объект, на внутренние стенки которого будет проецироваться видеоинсталляция. Данное решение продиктовано тем, что арт-объект будет просматриваться из всех точек музея и станет логическим поддержанием центрального объема музейной экспозиции. Под ним мы расположили декоративный стеллаж с книгами, источниками знаний, обложки которых так же можно использовать как часть экспозиции.

Основной цвет мебели терракотовый и его оттенки, которые дополняется яркими деталями пола и интерьера. Зону музея и кафе дизайнеры разделили наливным полом с геометрическими линиями, подчеркивая круглые формы планировки. Глубокие тона оформления интерьера создают спокойствие, вызывают интерес и привлекают внимание, погружая в атмосферу авангарда, в котором хочется остаться. В пространстве использовано разно уровневое освещение.

Ключевые факторы успеха

Дизайнеры добавили простые, четкие и понятные формы, которые не только имеют функциональные преимущества, но и поддерживают необычное пространство музея. Предусмотрены посадки, которые будут удобны как для групп, так и для бизнес встреч. Продуманное зонирование, мягкие посадочные места и притягивающий бар создают современное пространство, которое привлекает не только посетителей музея, но и гостей с улицы.

Поделиться: